W. Edwin Dodson, MD

dodson_comWilliam Edwin Dodson MD, FAAP, FAAN, FANA, is professor emeritus of neurology and of pediatrics.  Previously he served as associate vice chancellor and associate dean for admissions and for continuing medical education at Washington University School of Medicine and for 23 years was chair of the Committee on Admissions for the School of Medicine. He received his AB and MD degrees from Duke University where he was selected for Alpha Omega Alpha. Following his internship and residency in pediatrics at the Children’s Hospital Medical Center in Boston plus a two year stint at NIH, he moved to St. Louis for residency and fellowship in child neurology at the Washington University School of Medicine.

In the past he founded and was the first president of The St. Louis Family Support Network and later he served as Chairman of the Children’s Trust Fund of Missouri, an organization that works for the prevention of child abuse and neglect. He served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Child Neurology Society, of the American Epilepsy Society and Epilepsy Foundation of America where he was Chairman of the Professional Advisory Board, President and Chairman of the Board. A coeditor of five books on epilepsy (Pediatric Epilepsy: Diagnosis and Therapy; The Treatment of Epilepsy; The Assessment of Cognitive Function in Epilepsy; Students with Seizures: A Manual for School Nurses; and Quality of Life in Epilepsy) he also served on the Mental Health Board of St. Louis and on the Mayor’s Commission on Children Youth and Families.
Listed repeatedly in Who’s Who and in Best Doctors in America, Dr. Dodson was the recipient of the Clemens Award of the Epilepsy Foundation of St. Louis, the Guardian Angel Award of the Family Support Network of St. Louis, the American Epilepsy Society’s J. Kiffin Penry Award for Excellence in Epilepsy Care and Washington University’s Gerry and Bob Virgil Ethic of Service Award.  In 2010 he received Washington University Medical Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award and in 2013 he was recipient of the Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Award in Medical Student Education.